Bangladesh Clinch T20I Series Against Ireland with Shakib and Litton’s Heroics

Bangladesh clinched a comprehensive victory of 77 runs over Ireland in the 2nd T20I match played on Wednesday at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram. Bangladesh batted first, and Litton Das and Rony Talukdar played magnificently to put up a massive score of 202/3 in just 17 overs.

Ireland, in reply, failed to cope with Bangladesh’s bowling attack led by Shakib Al Hasan, who scalped five wickets and dismantled their batting lineup. Despite Curtis Campher’s half-century, Ireland could only manage 125/9 in 17 overs. This win gave Bangladesh an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series. Shakib Al Hasan was awarded the Player of the Match for his all-round performance.

In the post-match presentation, Shakib Al Hasan said that they wanted to play fearless cricket and discussed it every time, and when he was batting, he saw that there was something for the spinners. They will try to win the next match while rotating some players.

On the other hand, Paul Stirling, the Irish captain, said that it was a tricky day, and they had a lot to work on. Bangladesh was a strong team, and he felt that there was no one-sided match till now. Only three players could score double-digit runs for the visitors, and Ireland succumbed to pressure from the beginning.

In terms of the game highlights, the match was reduced to 17 overs per side due to rain. Bangladesh dominated the game from the beginning, and no Irish player could pose a threat to their score.

The visitors’ batting order crumbled, and only a few players could manage to score runs. Bangladesh’s bowlers were on point, especially Shakib Al Hasan, who claimed a five-wicket haul, while Taskin Ahmed took three wickets. In the end, Benjamin White could only manage to take a single on the last ball, and Bangladesh emerged victorious by a significant margin of 77 runs.

The playing XIs were as follows:

Ireland (Playing XI): Paul Stirling(c), Ross Adair, Lorcan Tucker(w), Harry Tector, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Curtis Campher, Mark Adair, Fionn Hand, Graham Hume, Benjamin White

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Litton Das(w), Rony Talukdar, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shamim Hossain, Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan(c), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud

Bangladesh and Ireland will meet again on the last day of this month, and Ireland will be hoping to win the final game. The build-up for the match will begin at 1330 IST (0800 GMT).